Secondary Transfer

Transfering to Secondary School in September 2019

Parents with children currently in Year 5 will soon begin the important process of choosing a secondary school.  The secondary transfer process can seem daunting for families.  We would like to invite you to attend an information meeting on Tuesday 19 June @ 3.45pm.  This is an important meeting where you will be told about the application process and deadlines for applying for a secondary school.  

Information Leaflet

Some schools have selection tests and have open evenings coming up over the next few weeks  (see table below)

Selection tests and banding tests at Barnet schools for 2019 Admission

 

Test Dates 2018

Deadline for Test Applications

Ashmole Academy

     Musical Aptitude  ~  Sat 9 June

     Music Auditions  ~  Tues 3 & Wed 4 July 

     Fri 18 May

Friern Barnet School

     Enhanced Arts Programme  ~  Mon 2 July

     Fri 22 June

Hendon School

     Banding Test  ~  Sat 1 Dec & Sun 2 Dec

     Wed 31 October

The Henrietta Barnett School

      Tues 4 September

     Tues 17 July

Mill Hill County High School

     Technology test  ~  Sat 15 September     Music Auditions  ~  Sun 10 June, Sun 24 June       & Sat 30 June     Dance Auditions  ~  Sat 16 June & Sun 8 July

     Friday 18 May

 

Queen Elizabeth’s Boys’ School

     Thurs 20 September

     Fri 13 July

St Mary’s & St John’s CE School

     1st Performing Arts Test     2nd Performing Arts Test

     Banding test (all applicants)  ~  Sat 24 Nov

     To be confirmed

     Wed 31 October

St Michael’s Catholic Grammar School

     Fri 14 September

     Tues 10 July

 

Selection tests at schools in neighbouring local authorities

 

Test Dates 2018

Deadline for Test Applications

Dame Alice Owen’s School (Herts)

     Entrance Exam Part 1 ~ Sat 1 September

     Entrance Exam Part 2 ~ Mon 3 September

     Musical Aptitude 1st round ~ Tues 4 September   

     Tues 19 June

The Latymer School (Enfield)

     Sun 2 September

     Tues 3 July

 DATES AND TIMES OF OPEN EVENINGS IN THE SUMMER TERM 2018

St Michael’s Catholic Grammar School (Girls)

Thursday 28 June

 

3.30 - 5pm and/or

7 - 9pm Final admission 8pm

Nether Street, Finchley, N12 7NJ

 

Guided tours of the school will be arranged between 3.30 – 5pm and between 7 – 9pm.  Parents are also invited to a short meeting with the headteacher at one of these times:  5pm or 7pm or 9pm.  All visitors should come to the main hall.  If parents wish, transfer age children may accompany them but no other children should be brought because of the lack of space.  Unfortunately, there is no parking on site.  It is suggested that parents park in Lodge Lane car park as the routes to the school become easily congested with traffic.  Visitors should not try to drive onto the school premises.

Queen Elizabeth’s School Barnet (Boys)

Thursday 5 July

3 - 9pm

Final admission 7.30pm

Queens Road, Barnet, EN5 4DQ

The school will be open from 3pm until 9pm for those parents and their children who are considering making an application for September 2019.  Guided tours of the school will be arranged between 3 – 7.30pm.  Parents will also be invited to hear an address from the Headmaster.  Please be aware that there is no parking available on the school premises.  The final admission to the school is at 7.30pm.

The Henrietta Barnett School (Girls)

Friday 13 July &

Monday 16 July

9am – 12.30pm

9am – 12.30pm

 

Central Square, Hampstead Garden Suburb, NW11 7BN

 

Parents and daughters are invited to view the school between 9am – 12.30pm. There will be the opportunity to hear the Head speak and tours will be available, there is no need to book in advance. Please assemble outside the main building in Central Square.  Please note that there is no parking on school premises and we politely ask that you park considerately.  The school prospectus and our test application form can be downloaded from our website. See website for further details at www.hbschool.org.uk